Meet Juancho Ramirez

Q: What do you do and how long have you been involved in health and fitness?

A: I love playing almost all sports, but my favourites are basketball, football and beach volleyball. I have worked and volunteered as an assistant trainer at the St. Paul’s Healthy Heart Program, Strive Spinal Cord Injury Recovery Centre and now a Kinesiologist at Le Physique!

Q: What inspired you to do what you do?
A: My grandfather was diagnosed with Parkinson’s Disease a few years ago and I felt helpless and did not know how to be of aid to him. He continues to fight his disease, to never let it change his optimistic attitude, and to never give up. I have dedicated my life to assisting others relieve their pains, provide emotional support, and improve their physical health and wellbeing.

Q: What are your favourite things about fitness / Kinesiology?
A: My favourite things about fitness/Kinesiolgy are the challenge to improve myself and the opportunity to help others feel better, more confident, and achieve their goals.

* Outside of work, where can people most often find you?
A: From my couch, watching the basketball or football game or movie, to the Vancouver Streets, looking for the latest eats, to the mountains and oceans, adventuring and exploring, there are many places people can find me.

Q: What is your favourite hobby?
A: Drawing, painting, and playing music.

Q: What’s your favourite music?
A: I do not have a favourite genre of music, I am open to almost all types of music whether it be Rhythm and Blues, 70s Funk, or Classical. Usually my mood dictates what I will listen to.

Q: What is your favourite exercises?
A: Walking! It does not sound exciting, but there is something so peaceful about a walk outdoors to enjoy the beautiful Vancouver scenery or nature. Walking calms my mind and gets me away from the world’s distractions, while doing a surprisingly very physically and mentally beneficial activity.

Q: What are 3 things people don’t know about you?
1) I play 5 instruments.
2) I was in a Colgate print advertisement when I was a child.
3) I have been to 4/7 continents.

Q: What did you want to be when you were growing up?
A: A professional basketball player. I never grew taller though…

Q: What’s your spirit animal?
A: A Sloth! Similar to this beloved animal, I tend to have a relaxed way of life and altruistic behaviour. But do not let our slow approach to life fool you, we can move quickly and energetically when the moment calls.

Q: Tell us your favourite TV show
A: Currently, Brooklyn 99.

Q: If you could be on any reality TV show what would it be?
A: A judge on any Food Show on TV. (I love food!)

Q: Celebrity crush?
A: Wonder Woman herself, Gal Gadot.

Q: What’s your guilty pleasure?
A: Playing video games!

Nicole has worked with one of BC’s leading fitness gyms as a top achiever with several awards in personal training and customer service. She is passionate about motivating, educating and expanding the minds of her clients and students to achieve more than just physical fitness. Nicole draws from her background and varied experiences such as yoga, rock climbing, kickboxing and pilates, to provide fun alternatives to “traditional exercises.”

Share
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *