Meet May Guan

Q: What do you do and how long have you been involved activity and health?

A: I have been playing volleyball since the 6th grade (as a middle blocker), and have been running since the 3rd grade (I gravitated from track and field to long distance running). I volunteer as a volleyball coach for my high school, and for club teams in East Vancouver. I started the Kinesiology program at UBC and plan to graduate by 2022. I recently started my co-op term at Le Physique as a Client Care Manager and Cardio Trainer.

Q: What inspired you to do what you do?

A: Growing up, I had the opportunity to participate in various sports, which led me to fall in love with the idea of being active. I realized how important it was to not only strive for physical health, but also mental health. Participating in sports is one of my main outlets for dealing with stress, and it also challenges me to constantly create and work towards personal goals. Because I’ve experienced such a positive impact from physical activity, I want to do something that will help others feel the same way.

Q: What are your favourite things about fitness / Kinesiology?

A: I love how fitness and Kinesiology can encourage people to continuously challenge themselves and learn – whether you are learning about your body and how it works, the relationship between physical, mental, and emotional health, or even how simply being active can result in being a part of a large community of like-minded individuals who support each other.

 

Q: Outside of work, where can people most often find you?

A: On a volleyball court, on a mountain/hiking trail, or at a bubble tea shop

 

Q: Favourite hobby?

A: Hiking (with dogs) and baking/cooking

 

Q: What’s your favourite music?

A: I usually listen to a mix of R&B and hip hop. I’m also a sucker for throwback music.

Q: What’s your favourite exercises?

A: When I lift weights: Romanian dead lifts and landmine incline chest press. Otherwise, I like going on walks and running.

 

Q: What are 3 things people don’t know about you?

I am ambidextrous: I use my left hand when writing and eating, but when I play sports I use my right hand

People often confuse me with my sister because they think we are twins (she’s actually 3 years older than me)

I love playing board games: some of my favourites are Anomia, Code Names, and Exploding Kittens

 

Q: What did you want to be when you were growing up?

A: A veterinarian (my love for dogs started very young)

 

Q: What’s your spirit animal?

A: Definitely a giraffe. They are known as ‘gentle giants’, and I’ve always felt like I could understand them because I’m often known as the ‘tall, somewhat awkward’ person in my family and friend group.

 

Q: Favourite TV show?

A: It’s so hard to choose just one! My favourites are Friends, Brooklyn 99, and Black Mirror

 

Q: If you could be on any reality TV show what would it be?

A: The Amazing Race (I would definitely be willing to compete in that)

 

Q: Celebrity crush?

A: Dave Franco

 

Q: What’s your guilty pleasure?

A: Bubble tea (I have it way too often)

 

 

Nicole has worked with one of BC’s leading fitness gyms as a top achiever with several awards in personal training and customer service. She is passionate about motivating, educating and expanding the minds of her clients and students to achieve more than just physical fitness. Nicole draws from her background and varied experiences such as yoga, rock climbing, kickboxing and pilates, to provide fun alternatives to “traditional exercises.”

Share
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *